Hero's Journey Storytelling Framework

The Hero's Journey is a classic story structure that was first introduced by academics Joseph Campbell in 1949. Campbell formulated the Hero's Journey by referring to various histories that took place in the world, including the stories of the prophets. In general, The Hero's Journey is a story in which a brave character goes out of his place of residence to get what they need, face conflict, and ultimately win over adversity.

The Hero's Journey Joseph Campbell

Campbell divides The Hero's Journey into 17 stages to define the structure of character's journey in the global story. The 17 stages are divided into 3 major chapters namely Separation, Initiation and Return. There are also all stages of Joseph Hero's original version of The Hero's Journey are as follows:

1. Call To Adventure
2. Refusal To Call
3. Supernatural Aid
4. Crossing First Threshold
5. Belly of The Whale
6. Road of Trials
7. Meeting with Goddess
8. Temptation
9. Atonement With Father
10. Apostasis
11. The Ultimate Boon
12. Refusal of Return
13. Magic Flight
14. Rescue From Without
15. Crossing the Return Threshold
16. Master of Two Worlds
17. Freedom to Live

The Hero's Journey Christopher Vogler 

In 2007, screenwriter Christopher Vogler improved Campbell's original structure in his book, The Writer’s Journey. In it, Vogler narrowed down 17 stages in the Campbell phase, and made it to only 12 stages consisting of the following:

1. The Ordinary World
2. The Call of Adventure
3. Refusal of the Call
4. Meeting the Mentor
5. Crossing the First Threshold
6. Tests, Allies, Enemies
7. Approach to the Inmost Cave
8. The Ordeal
9. Reward (Seizing the Sword)
10. The Road Back
11. Resurrection/Atonement
12. Return with the Elixir

This story structure does not need to be followed in its entirety. You can think of this structure as a basic map in the process of making stories and improvising in the middle of the story to make the story more dynamic.

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar